Taxes
  • How the Tax Cuts Could Raise Wages – and Why They Might Not

    By Michael Rainey

    Wages don’t seem to be rising in the wake of the corporate tax cuts that went into effect this year, and many critics of the GOP tax overhaul say there’s little reason to think they will. But the...

  • Are Tax Revenues Really Rising?

    By Michael Rainey

    A Wall Street Journal editorial this past weekend took aim at the idea that the Republican tax cuts have much to do with rising deficits. “Perhaps you’ve read that the federal budget deficit is...

  • A man walks his dog past a mural depicting factory workers in the historic Pullman neighborhood in Chicago November 20, 2014.      REUTERS/Andrew Nelles/File Photo

    Economic Growth Gets a Downgrade

    By Michael Rainey

    The Congressional Budget Office reduced its estimate for the growth rate of the U.S. economy in 2018 to 3.1 percent, down from its estimate of 3.3. percent in April. The CBO’s estimate for 2019...

  • FBI director says all surveillance complies with U.S. law

    The Tax Cuts Aren't Popular, So the GOP Is Talking About This Instead

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Republicans have found that their key legislative accomplishment in the last two years, the tax cuts passed in December, aren’t nearly as popular as they had hoped they would be, and the AP reports...

  • Who Gets the 20% Pass-Through Tax Break?

    By Michael Rainey and Yuval Rosenberg

    The Treasury Department released a 184-page set of guidelines Wednesday seeking to clarify just who gets to claim the new 20 percent tax deduction on pass-through business incomes. Overall, the rules...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Friday, March 23, 2018 - 5:12pm
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 6:07pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 6:07pm
Monday, March 19, 2018 - 6:12pm
Monday, March 19, 2018 - 5:39pm
Friday, March 16, 2018 - 5:41pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 5:19pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 5:16pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 6:23pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 6:10pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 5:54pm
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 6:01pm
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 5:27pm
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 5:45pm
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 5:44pm
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 5:37pm
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 6:23pm
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 6:04pm
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 5:16pm
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 5:55pm
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 5:32pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 5:12pm
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 6:00pm
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 5:49pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 5:58pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 5:19pm
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 5:48pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:35pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:15pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 3:04pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 5:46pm

Pages